Almost 500 people were affected by distracted driving in the space of about a week, and those are only the ones we know about. San Diego County sheriff's deputies teamed up with the California Highway Patrol to crackdown on distracted driving for almost an entire week. The result? Tickets were issued to 467 adults and three juveniles for driving while texting or talking on their cell phones. That was not all, officers did make note of more than 500 different times that drivers were seen violating cell phone related laws.
San Diego car accident lawyers are concerned about the prevalence of distracted driving and the amount of citations and observances made shows, very clearly, that distracted driving is a "traffic safety" matter to be very concerned about. The California State Office of Traffic Safety has also illustrated that accidents and injuries are four times more likely to occur to drivers who use hand-held devices! That is very troubling for anyone on the road. The irony is that drivers are aware of the high risk and they still take it! Many of the drivers cited during this weeklong crackdown indicated that they were aware that the crackdown was taking place and still they continued to use their hand-held devices. In that same survey issued by California's Office of Traffic Safety nearly 40% of drivers listed texting or cell phone use while driving as the #1 safety concern for drivers!
Minimum fines are $159 for the first offense, after that the fine jumps up more than $100 to $279. Officers offer a simple solution, if you absolutely need to respond to a text, or take a call while you are driving pull over or stop somewhere and park your car. Resume driving once you are done and can pay attention to driving, which is the way to insure safely arriving at your destination. Unfortunately, using a hands-free mobile device doesn't seem to lower the level of distraction when it comes to driving. Since July of 2008 California adopted a zero tolerance law for any driver under 18 years of age, absolutely no hand-held of hands-free mobile devices are to be used while driving. Drivers over 18 may use hands-free devices.